Free pattern – Flash (the hero)

And I just crocheted a Flash (well I was going to do a kid flash but then I didn’t know if it was supposed to be orange or red… So I decided to do a Flash.)

20130708-112202.jpg

20130708-112211.jpg

20130708-112218.jpg

20130709-072400.jpg

Finished product ^_^ he was going to have hands and legs actually but then it didn’t look as cute so….

Do not sell this pattern. If you wish to distribute this pattern [free of charge] either in print or on other web sites please provide a link to this original post.

Abbreviations

Ch -Chain
Dec- Decrease
Inc- increase
Rnd- round
Rep- Repeat
Sc- Single Crochet
Sc2tog- Single Crochet 2 together (a decreasing st)
Sl st- Slip Stitch
St(s)- Stitch(es)
[ ]- Sets apart a group of stitches to be repeated as a whole

Material
-yarn: red, yellow, white and flesh colour
-crochet hook
-stuffing
-safety eyes (size you deem appropriate) -> I think I used 7.5mm

Head/body
R1: flesh colour yarn, magic ring work 6 in ring. Do not join. Insert stitch marker. (6)
R2: [2 sc in the each st] 6 times (12)
R3: [sc in next st, 2 sc in next st] 6 times (18)
R4: [sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next st] 6 times (24)
R5: [sc in next 3 st, 2 sc in next st] 6 times (30)
R6: [sc in each st] (30)
R7: [sc in each st] (30)
R8: [sc in next 3 st, sc2tog] 6 times (24)
Insert stuffing and eyes
R9: [sc in next 2 st, sc2tog] 6 times (18)
R10: [sc in next 1 st, sc2tog] 6 times (12) change colour to red

20130708-112930.jpg

R11: [sc in each st] (12)
R12: [sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next st] 4 times (16)
R13: [sc in each st] (16)
R14: [sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next st] 5 times, 1st (21)
R15: [sc in each st] (21) change colour to yellow
R16: [sc in each st] (21)
R17: [sc in next 2 st, sc2tog] 5 times, 1 st (16) change colour to red
R18: [sc in next 2 st, sc2tog] (12)
Finish stuffing doll

Bottom:
R1:Magic ring, work 6 sc into ring (6) Do not join
R2: [2 sc in the each st] 6 times (12)
Join this to the base of the head/body

20130708-113045.jpg

Mask (okay frankly all I can say is that this really depends on where your eyes are sewed on/glued on/ stuck on. So you have to use this with discretion)
This is based on where my amigurumi eyes are located.
R1: red colour yarn, magic ring work 6 in ring. Do not join. Insert stitch marker. (6)
R2: [2 sc in the each st] 6 times (12)
R3: [sc in next st, 2 sc in next st] 6 times (18)
R4: [sc in next 2 st, 2 sc in next st] 6 times (24)
R5: [sc in next 3 st, 2 sc in next st] 6 times (30)
R6: [sc in each st] (30)
R7: [sc in each st] (30)
R8: [sc in next 3 st, sc2tog] 6 times (24)

Here is the slightly tricky part (?) Well almost. (Or it will be due to poor explanation skills)

Position the mask titling backward, then crochet one row of sc from the first eye to the second eye. And continue until it is in a suitable size, so that it can enclose the eye. Chain3, and skip 3 and treble crochet 4 times chain 3 and join to other side of mask. You can sew on the mask so it will never come off [hopefully the picture below explains better]

20130708-113203.jpg

Lightning thingy that sticks at the side of the mask (make 2)
Chain 3
Skip, sc in next 2
Attach to sides of the head

Crest on chest
Magic ring work 5. Join. Embroider/sew/crochet onto the chest

Embroider the lightning symbol.

Yeah and you are done!!!

How did you like it? (Actually this is my first project I made an effort to remember my stitches…) anyways if you have any questions feel free to ask! Oh and subscribe for future free cute patterns ^_^ thanks! Hope you found this useful.

11 thoughts on “Free pattern – Flash (the hero)

    1. wyxone Post author

      Yeah I don’t mind ^_^. (haha. I am so flattered that you want to sell it) But could you also re-direct people here and let them know the pattern exist? (heehee. I am hoping to become a full time crochet designer in the future. So it is time to build up network presence) Oh and could you let me in to 15% of the profits (only for the pattern you used from me of course) Because I don’t really have much pocket money (and I would so like to buy yarn and books…)

      On a selfish side note: could you teach me how to sell online? (I am rather new to the digital world… Somehow I always manage to be the one crashing the computer *sulks*) you can contact me at: lip.balm.addiction@gmail.com -> I identify as one… and unfortunately cannot function without it

      Reply
    1. Amiguruthi

      I’ve just realised that sound like I’m accusing you of pattern theft! I’m totally not cos they’re written differently, I just want to tame my ego 😉

      Reply
      1. wyxone Post author

        Hahah! It is alright. Looking at the end product, they are actually really similar (anyone who seen both would have thought the same thing you did ^_^) but the pattern I came up with was totally from my brain (I was getting irritated because I couldn’t seem to find a flash pattern I liked-> and thus the pattern…)
        Anyways thank you for your compliment ^_^

      2. Amiguruthi

        Thanks for understanding. I think that irritation is what makes us become designers isn’t it? I love your other work as well (Pikachu is so cute and you’re probably the only other Jinx fan I’ve seen!) so my curiosity has at least gotten me another good blogger to follow 😀 x

      3. wyxone Post author

        Hahaha ^_^ yes maybe. Ooooo you like Jinx too? (Actually I am a fan of many things -> I read/watch too much things instead of study -_-) Ahhh you do flatter me so (I hope I don’t get arrogant or anything) anyways thank you. I will aim to always make things that I hope my readers will like ^_^

  1. KayS

    I’m absolutely ecstatic I found this pattern. My best friend loves Flash and I’m super excited to make this for her. It’s a great pattern (the drawings for the mask really helped) but I’m having some trouble with the lightening bolts on the side of the mask. I’m just confused on how they’re connected if you start with the ch 3. Thanks so much!

    Reply
    1. wyxone Post author

      Thanks ^_^ I hope the pattern turns out well for you as well 😛 uhh actually because the Flash was kinda small… And so that makes the lightning bolts on the side of his mask small. So I cheated (eh heh…) it is basically a small triangle (hopefully this is making sense?) sorry. I dont’t really know how to make lightning bolts that small that looked nice…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

